The Almost-Made-Its

imageimage

As a precursor to the Top 100, I feel there is some benefit to giving the list of ranks #101 through #110. Many of these films were at one point in the top 100 but have fallen off after having seen new ones. Others fell due to my re-watching them and just not enjoying them as I once did. The other reason that they are on this list is that after one watching, I just couldn’t be sure if I really wanted them in the top 100, and since I’ve only seen many of them once, I am still unsure. No matter the reason, these films are great, and they are all films that I definitely want to see again (save one, but that will be explained later) so I can re-evaluate them and perhaps, put them on the list again in the future. I will be referencing films that are in the top 100 without specifically naming them here.

#110 – The Silence of the Lambs – 1991 – Jonathan Demme

I read this book for a grade eight book report (yeah, I was a weird child) and while reading it, I found that Thomas Harris was absolutely brilliant in painting a picture with enough detail to give you what you need, but in a restrained enough way that you start extrapolating and thus the real horror begins. The strongest part of this film is that they don’t turn this into a slasher film. It is restrained and suspenseful and brilliantly terrifying.

#109 – Mary Poppins – 1964 – Robert Stevenson

A childhood favourite of mine (and everyone, duh), and it was very difficult for me to take this off of the top 100. However the problem is that there are just so many other childhood movies that I like better, and this one just doesn’t hit me as hard as it did ten years ago. I still love it, but I can’t keep it on the top 100 right now.

#108 – Salvador – 1986 – Oliver Stone

I will admit here that I love Oliver Stone. He has style to his films that makes them incredibly watchable, and even though some of those typically hailed as his greatest don’t hit me that way (Platoon), others like this brilliant look at El Salvador during its civil war are so raw and gritty that I can’t help but laud praise on them (and Stone himself). This film is one I need to watch a few more times before I decide its final place .

#107 – Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade – 1989 – Steven Spielberg

Spielberg has four films in the top 100 (tied with David Fincher and just behind Stanley Kubrick at five), and I just couldn’t put my favourite Indy film along with them. Despite being a brilliant film and having two of my favourite performances from Ford and Connery, it doesn’t compete with some of the grandeur found in my other favourite Spielberg films.

#106 – Bon Cop Bad Cop – 2006 – Erik Canuel

This is definitely my favourite Canadian film, and being a French immersion student in Ontario, it has so much humour that only a bilingual person would understand that I can’t help but adore it. However it does have a lacklustre climax which means I can’t stick it in the top 100 despite being a film I can watch over and over again.

#105 – Elephant – 2003 – Gus Van Sant

This was one of the biggest surprises of all the movies I watched this year (despite being almost a decade old). It is about Columbine and the most incredible thing about Elephant is the compassion with which it handles the subject matter. It covers the day leading up to the massacre and shows from various different perspectives how an ordinary day in this school turned into a day that now lives in infamy in the collective imagination of our society.

#104 – Moonrise Kingdom – 2012 – Wes Anderson

This film lands in the category of one I need to see a few more times before I put it on the list. While watching it I fell in love with Wes Anderson’s style that had been unsettling to me in Life Aquatic and Fantastic Mr Fox. Here he found a story that is relatable to everyone watching and gives us a hook to latch onto and be torn through this beautiful world he had constructed.

#103 – Magnolia – 1999 – Paul Thomas Anderson                                                      

Paul Thomas Anderson is very divisive for me. He has one film on the list that I have no regrets holding up as a great film. Magnolia definitely contains my favourite Tom Cruise performance, but as a full story and film, I’m still not sure how much praise I will heap on to it.

#102 – Somewhere – 2010 – Sofia Coppola

Sofia Coppola has two films on the top 100 and she and David Fincher top the list of my favourite directors right now. Stylistically she perfectly displays a realistic world that is both mundane and filled with the potential for fulfillment. Somewhere is her most experimental film and can be seen as an expansion of Lost in Translation (both dealing with an Actor feeling lost in the world). This also needs a few more viewings before it will make the list.

#101 – Argo – 2012 – Ben Affleck

When I went to the theatre to see Argo, my expectations were loaded. I loved Gone Baby Gone and The Town with some hesitation. They weren’t perfect, but they had phenomenal performances mixed with a great buildup of suspense to a climax that was satisfying; but then there was either a denouement that lasted too long or a character conflict that took me out of the experience. Argo blew me away, and while not currently my favourite film of 2012, this could definitely make the next version of the list (that is if Zero Dark Thirty, Les Miserables, Django Unchained, and Lincoln don’t surpass this once I see them).

Leave a Reply

